The Bible and Society

How God’s Word is True

Keeping One’s Eyes Set on the Lord Jesus

Posted by Mats on 01/09/2009

There are many lessons that I have learned while jogging at night, but this is the one that comes to mind when I think about it: When we focus our life in what really matters, our problems either become insignificant or more bearable.

It often happened that  when I was about to leave home and go out jogging I could feel some part of my body aching (belly, feet, or some other). I used to have second thoughts about going out, but eventually I used to go out and do it anyway. While I was in it, I could still sense some part of me aching but as I went on, the pain vanished.

I remember one time not being at 100% before going out but upon coming back not even remembering what was aching! Even to this day, when I think of it, I still can’t remember where was the pain.

I believe that the spiritual lesson God taught me in all this is that, if we focus in what really matter, we will be able to do things we would never thought we were able. The same way my mind was moved away from my pain and focused in running and getting enough oxygen, our spiritual life can be much better if we turn our attention from our problems and focus in Who really matters: The Lord Jesus Christ.

I am sure we all know people who like to “worship” their misery: they talk 24/7 of it as if they are the most aflicted person who has ever walked on earth. Think about what they could do for God if they devoted that much energy in reaching out for the souls on their way to the damnation of hell.

Perhaps it’s time for us christians to stop crying and moaning and complaining so much, and just go out there and share the faith as we were commanded.

Sure, there will be hard times and disapointments but we are not to built a tent around our misery and stay there forever. We are to moan, cry and weep, but move on.

Is it easy? No, it’s not. Will we feel alone and misunderstood? Probably. But even if everyone abandons us, there is One Who will never leave us nor forsake us. Let us keep our eyes set on Him, the Author of our Faith, and go on speaking with all boldness about Him.

“Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the Author and Perfecter of our faith, Who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the Right Hand of the throne of God.” – Hebrews 12:2

Leave a Reply

 
